Meet the nominees: Tom McFall Honour Award 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018 at 11:25AM

Tom McFall-Honour Award is given to a volunteer, supporter, teacher, or craftsperson, making a significant contribution to Alberta’s Craft culture. 

◾️Irene Naested. Nominated for her commitment to teaching and education. Naested is a creator of arts programs, books and resource publisher, and develops opportunities for artists to exhibit their work. She received the Canadian Art Educator of the Year Award in 2014.

◾️Natali Rodrigues. Nominated for her commitment to her art, the education of others, and a leader of Craft. She is currently the president of the international Glass Art Society and the president of the Alberta College of Art and Design Faculty Association.

◾️Jennifer Salahub. Nominated for studying, researching, and telling the stories of Craft in Alberta. With a Ph.D from the Royal College of Art in London, Salahub expertise lies in contextualizing and critiquing form and materials across craft spectrums and was instrumental in the creation of MFA in Craft Media at ACAD

◾️Vikki Wiercinski. Nominated for her advocacy for home-grown artists. As the primary organizer of the Royal Bison Art & Craft Fair in Edmonton for the past eight years, her investment of time and energy continues to support craft artists, makers, and designers.

◾️Kari Woo. Nominated for her service to the promotion, education and advancement of the Fine Craft community. Kari Woo is a practicing artist and was the co-founder of the Shiny Fuzzy Muddy Collective in Vancouver, and the New Craft Coalition and INFLUX gallery in Calgary.

Article originally appeared on Alberta Craft Council (
See website for complete article licensing information.