10186-106 Street NW
780-488-6611 / 1-800-DO CRAFT

Monday - Saturday: 10 am - 5 pm
Thursday: 10 am - 6 pm
Free customer parking at back of building


cSPACE King Edward
1721 29 Avenue SW, #280

Wednesday - Saturday: 11 am - 5 pm
Street parking available


Participating artists: Nicole Baxter, Linda Chow, Robin Dupont, Milt Fischbein, Matt Gould, Terry Hildebrand, Brad Keys, Eveline Kolijn, Diane Krys, Darren Petersen, Jean-Claude and Talar Prefontaine, Shona Rae and Simon Wroot.

Donate Now Through!

« Old friendship inspires playful collection | Main | Alberta Public Art Summit 2012 »

Winners for the 2012 Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics and RBC Award for Glass

The Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery announced the winners for the 2012 Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics and the RBC Award for Glass at an Awards Ceremony in Waterloo on October 10th. Award winners received $10,000 each and runners-up $1,000 each. These prestigious national awards allow early career ceramic and glass artists to undertake a period of independent research, or other activities that will advance their artistic and professional practice at a key moment in their careers.

The winner of the 2012 Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics is Richmond, BC sculptor Eliza Au . Ms. Au received her BFA from the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design in 2005 and her MFA from the New York State College of Ceramics at Alfred University in 2009. Ms. Au’s work has been exhibited across North America, including the Corning Musuem of Glass and the Musuem of Contemporary Craft. Winning the Shantz Award will allow Eliza Au to do a CAD/CAM artist-in-residence at the  sundaymorning@ekwe (formerly the European Ceramic Workcentre) in The Netherlands. Carole Epp of Saskatoon was the runner-up.

The winner of the 2012 RBC Award for Glass is Toronto glass artist Benjamin Kikkert . Mr. Kikkert is a graduate of the Crafts and Design Glass Program at Sheridan College. He has worked extensively throughout the mountains, plains and coastlines of North America since it is these forces that inspire his work. Currently he is a resident of the Harbourfront Centre in Toronto. Winning the RBC Award will allow Benjamin Kikkert to travel to Germany to attend a summer session at Frauenau. Dominique Beaupré St-Pierre of Montreal was the runner-up.  

To be eligible for the Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics or the RBC Award for Glass, artists must be
Canadian citizens or have permanent-resident status. They must have developed skills through training and/or practice in the field (not necessarily in academic institutions) and be recognized by other artists working in the same artistic field. Successful candidates have a history of professional public presentations and publications, seek payment for their work, and actively practice their art. All applicants have maintained an independent professional practice for at least three to a maximum of 10 years prior to their application.

With an emphasis on supporting the work of Canadian ceramic and glass artists, the Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery presents exhibitions that challenge ideas and perceptions of the definitions of art, craft and design today. The Gallery’s public programs, offer multiple pathways for engagement with contemporary artworks and art-making practices. The Gallery Shop is recognized on its own merits as a fine craft gallery, showing the best of Canadian ceramic and glass work. Housing a collection of historical and contemporary Canadian ceramic, glass and enamel art, the Gallery is proud to conserve and promote an active component of Canada’s rich cultural heritage.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>